NHL names its all-star teams, all-rookie team for 2015-16

Durham, ON, Canada / channel12

Pittsburgh Penguins centre Sidney Crosby was voted as an NHL first-team all star on Wednesday for the fourth time in his career.
Joining the Penguins captain as 2015-16 first-team all stars are Dallas left-winger Jamie Ben, Chicago right-winger Patrick Kane, defencemen Erik Karlsson of Ottawa and Los Angeles’ Drew Doughty and Washington goaltender Braden Holtby.
Washington left-winger Alex Ovechkin headlines the second-team all-star selections. San Jose centre Joe Thornton and St. Louis right-winger Vladimir Tarasenko join him up front. Pittsburgh’s Kris Letang and San Jose’s Brent Burns round out the blue line while Tampa Bay’s Ben Bishop earned second-team goalie honours.
The NHL also named its 2015-16 all-rookie team on Wednesday, with Calder Trophy winner Artemi Panarin of Chicago earning a spot.
Edmonton’s Connor McDavid and Buffalo’s Jack Eichel round out the forwards. On defence are Philadelphia’s Shayne Gostisbehere and St. Louis’ Colton Parayko. Anaheim’s John Gibson was named as goaltender.
Voting for the all-star teams and all-rookie team is conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers Association at the end of the regular season.
(The Canadian Press)

Comments are closed.

Top Stories This Week